Voice...

asleep…

Have you ever thought that sometimes when reading a book, that it’s actually prophecying your very life at the moment!? I do! I guess that’s b/c I don’t read that often and when I do… I rarely can continue… but something has made me grip onto this book by Jeanne Guyon. (I believe it’s God!)

I was reading some of it today… the Song of Songs Commentary by Jeanne Guyon. It is sooo good! I sometimes can’t put it down. And I actually write down and underline as much as I can! It’s absolutely amazing and so is the Song of Solomon. The Song of Solomon can also be an allegory to everyday life or more like an every year life kinda thing. (well I believe so) It’s so wierd how some of the things I’ve been reading- I feel as though it’s what I’m going through right now; more like, I can RELATE!!

So… Songs 2:7

7) I charge you, daughters of Jerusalem, by the gazelles, and by the does of the field, that you do not stir or awaken my Love until she pleases.

Jeanne goes on to write about vs 7: You sleep in a spiritual sleep in your Betrothed’s arms. How strange a thing that people, even spiritual people, are eager to awaken you from this gentle slumber. 

The daughters of Jerusalem are loving but meddlesome (fond of meddling; interfering) souls. They are anxious to wake you for apparently the most valid reasons. But you are soundly asleep that you cannot be awakened. The Bridegroom speaks for you, holding you in His arms and charging others not to awaken His dear one. He tells the impetuous (acting or done quickly and without thought or care) daughters that you are more pleasing to Him at rest than in most outward activity. “Do not wake her,” He says, “nor disturb her sleep. When I am ready to call her, she will be pleased to awaken and follow.”

Wow… I just can’t believe how much this goes with what I believe I am going through at the moment. I know that there are plenty of people wanting me to do things and be things that I can’t be right now… only b/c I’m asleep and resting in the arms of the Lord. I want Him to call me to the things that He has called me to and not just anyone. Only b/c when God calls me, I know that I will be ready. And that I will do as He says in humbleness and Love. I will be able to awaken my heart to many things that I’ve closed it down to.

Over the years I’ve had so many wounds from the meddlesome and impetuous daughters of Jerusalem. And I’m tired of dealing with them. Most people don’t know my past and all the horrible things that have been said to me, but I don’t want those things or those people to define who I am and continue to be a cycle in my life. I want to be asleep in the Lord and understand His Love and how I can Love with His Love. For only with His Love I can truly Love. I can’t expect people to fit into my hurtful world and change it. I’ve got to let God change my hurtful world and be the Bridegroom he is. My protector.

Earlier I was using these passages as a metaphor in my life. I was thinking about my husband and how amazing he truly is. He understands me sometimes more than I do! And he gives me more insight to myself than I ever thought that I could. He points out my many ways that no one else understands, and he still loves me for me. You can only know someone really if you know their heart. And well, my hubby knows my heart. He knows exactly how to take me and how to understand me. Maybe sometimes I need to use a filter with my words… but I believe that God made me the way I am… and honestly most of the time… what I say and the heart behind my words are 2 totally different things. I’m only good with words when I write… outspoken is a downfall of mine. But I’m learning… and my bridegroom, my husband is helping me every bit of the way. He’s holding me in his arms and whispering the things that I need to hear- the things that only a best friend can really know and say.

So… as I’m asleep. I hope that God gives me the guidance and courage to speak. The wisdom of solomon to know the difference b/w impetuous and caring people. I pray that God awakens me to be ready for all that He has called me to do. B/c I am willing to go the distance. I am willing to fit into the car (in dreams they mean ministry- my purple lavendar sports car!!)  of His choice for me!

One thought on “asleep…

  1. Beautiful! And yes, you are not what people say or think. God is the only one able to reveal who we really are. I need this revelation myself!

Leave a Reply

