Voice...

Sermon on the Mount

Lou Engle.

click in link above to view…

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the Sermon on the Mount… Matthew 5,6, and 7. For the past few years I’ve been learning about this sermon and so many people have been talking about it. But the other day it was like I was awakened to it again for the very first time! The funny thing about it was… I was trying to find a sermon by Lou Engle from the Onething11 conference, thought I found it, and actually watched the Fascinate 2011 conference archive instead! But God knew what He was doing! And Lou Engle was talking about the Sermon on the Mount! πŸ™‚

Matthew 5: 3-12 are some of the main points to Christianity… For Lou said “The Sermon on the Mount is the Constitution of the Kingdom of God. God doesn’t adjust to culture – culture adjusts to God.”

vs. 3-12 Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of heaven. Blessed are those who mourn, For they shall be comforted. Blessed are the meek, For they shall inherit the earth. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, For they shall be filled. Blessed are the merciful, For they shall obtain mercy. Blessed are the pure in heart, For they shall see God. Blessed are the peacekeepers, For they shall be called the Sons of God. Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, For theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven. Blessed are you when they revile and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely for My sake, Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven…

Wow… what a great Constitution to live by. I totally understand the poor in spirit thing, the meek, the hunger and thirst for righteousness… I mean, I can do all that. I can fast and pray. I can be humble. But when it comes to keeping the peace, let’s just say God is working on that in me! A lot! πŸ™‚ It’s so hard to think about people persecuting you and saying things about you and not wanting to get back at ’em or just make it worse. But it’s like God is saying, “Hey, let them persecute you, for they are helping you get higher up in the Kingdom. They are helping you, not harming you.” We see it as harmful to us, but God sees it in such a glorious way. B/c He knows that you are doing it right and according to His purpose, and on the truthful and gracious side… God’s opinion is the only one that counts! (And that’s for any situation!)

So now I’m awakened to this… And yes, I can have my downfalls from time to time; but I want every time for God to say… ‘nope, don’t worry about it, this is my fight, not yours’. And it is. It really is. So I’m praying that I can live out this lifestyle of Sermon on the Mount. Hopefully it doesn’t take years for me to get it down, but hopefully I can get to Heaven and say, Yes, Lord I lived according to your purpose. I learned to Love! And yes, above all else, I chose You Lord! and only You! πŸ™‚ -For like in this sermon Lou also talks about bowing down to the things of this age, and not to God… I want God! Because… all of this stuff in this world will pass away…

Leave a Reply

